Learning Learning Learning


Valley Nursery will ensure that the standards set out by the Government through the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) are adhered to and children receive the best learning experiences.

The early years foundation stage applies. It was introduced in September 2008 and revised in September 2012. It applies to everyone providing child care for pre school aged children in England. It is made up of a statutory framework for the Early Years which sets the standards for learning, development and care for children birth – 5 years and covers every aspect of our time with children from ensuring they are kept safe and healthy to setting out the requirements of staff suitability.

The EYFS profile consists of :-

Prime areas of learning

• Communication and language
• Physical development
• Personal, social and emotional development

    Specific areas of learning

    • Literacy
    • Mathematics
    • Understanding the world
    • Expressive area and design

      Learning Characteristics

      • Playing and exploring
      • Active learning
      • Creating and thinking critically